Three note loop test

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rw57oElVRdU]

This is a test for a performance next week, the first “Rhythm & Drone” live performance (in Romney Marsh, Kent – details here). I wanted to test out how a record split into three would sound rhythmically with a 4/4 beat – for some reason I couldn’t picture it or tap it out when I tried.

Also I like the idea of only changing one note at a time – the three notes make a chord – a way of stepping through different chords by only changing one of the notes each time, a bit like a puzzle. Here I’m just inputting numerical parameters for pitch on the Nord drum, but plan to do this with mono synths in future.

I also forgot how much I liked the sound of a bare contact mic scraping rhythmically – here used as the hi-hat sound – so will go back to investigate this more too.

Leave a Reply

